16
Sep
09

Peace Corps Info Session

As I mentioned yesterday I went to an information session at Peace Corps headquarters here in Washington. I was right in that I didn’t learn much additional information as I had seen a lot of the material before (including the short video that I watched before my interview).  However, it was fun to talk to others who were either in the same position I am in and to others who were just deciding if they wanted to apply. I heard from three RPCVs (Returned Peace Corps Volunteers), two who were in Eastern Europe, and one who was in Suriname. One unexpected highlight was that the brand new Peace Corps director happened to be walking into the building as the session was starting. He came in the room and spoke for a few minutes about his experience in the PC. He was very passionate and mentioned to us that he is determined to get the PC back into Haiti.

2 Responses to “Peace Corps Info Session”


  1. 1 Dece
    September 17, 2009 at 21:30

    Why does he have a thing about Haiti? Is it the coup? Might he wave Safety and Security concerns to get what he wants?

    • 2 Scott
      September 17, 2009 at 21:42

      I believe he mentioned that he helped start the Hatian program when he was a PCV in the Dominican Republic. I really doubt he’d waive any safety concerns, from my experience and research so far, the Peace Corps is overly cautious if anything.


Comments are currently closed.

Follow/Connect

RSSEmail LinkedIn LinkedIn

Burkina Faso

Archives

RSS Other PC Burkina Blog Posts

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Donate/Lend

Time in Burkina

Disclaimer

The opinions on this blog are only those of the author, and and do not reflect any position of the U.S. Government or the Peace Corps.