20
Sep
09

Change in Destination?

This is probably just a typo, but last week I received a letter in the mail from Peace Corps with my official nomination information. However, the location was not the “Francophone Sub-Saharan Africa” position I had been told. Instead it read, “Eastern Europe/Asia”.

I think this is likely just a typo for a few reasons:

  1. I’ve never seen those two regions listed together like that before. I’ve only seen them listed separately as “Eastern Europe” or “Asia”.
  2. I listed those regions as my number 1 and 2 choices, respectively, so there’s a good chance that they were just cut/pasted to the wrong form.
  3. I’d be surprised if my region was in fact changed without at least a phone call from my recruiter to discuss.

That said, I have been told that the region can change at any time, so you never know. I’m open to going to any country, so I don’t mind at all if my region/country changes. The only reason I’m concerned at all is because I just ordered all three levels of the French Rosetta Stone software ($450, which thankfully I didn’t open yet) and was doing research on the necessary French classes I’m required to take. Obviously if my region changes, I won’t be needing the French language training. I immediately called my recruiter, but only was able to leave a message and I haven’t heard back yet. I’m going to try again on Monday because I’m anxious to hear the answer.

2 Responses to “Change in Destination?”


  1. 1 Jenna
    November 10, 2009 at 11:44

    haha, just about the EE/Asia….sometimes people DO get that nomination. I’ve seen it a handful of times in the past year, and in fact, every person that gets that ends up going to Mongolia. I think its because Mongolia is in their region of Asia, yet is very close to Central Asia (which of course they tack onto their EE)


Comments are currently closed.



Follow/Connect

RSSEmail LinkedIn LinkedIn

Burkina Faso

Archives

RSS Other PC Burkina Blog Posts

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Donate/Lend

Time in Burkina

Disclaimer

The opinions on this blog are only those of the author, and and do not reflect any position of the U.S. Government or the Peace Corps.