02
Nov
09

Medical Clearance!

I didn’t even have to wait for the letter to come in the mail – this morning I received an email from PC Headquarters:

Greetings from the Assessment & Placement Office at Peace Corps Headquarters in Washington, DC! The Office of Medical Services has informed us that you have received your medical clearance.  Over the next few weeks, your file will be reviewed by the Assessment & Placement Staff for further evaluation.  This includes evaluation of technical skills, suitability and legal information.  Upon completion of the assessment, you may be considered for an invitation.  Please keep in mind that this stage in the process can be competitive as there are typically two applicants nominated for each spot available.  Given this, an invitation is never guaranteed and applicants should make no plans to go overseas unless an invitation has been issued and you have spoken to headquarters staff to accept your invitation.

I’m so excited to have gotten past the medical process, but I know that the upcoming waiting game will be even more difficult. Here’s hoping I hear from my PO soon!

6 Responses to “Medical Clearance!”


  1. 1 Anne Kaplan
    November 2, 2009 at 16:43

    All right! Glad to hear there’s progress being made.

  2. 2 Kellen
    November 2, 2009 at 22:31

    Congrats! Best of luck. The waiting game really is the hardest part. Hope that you get the invite soon.

  3. 3 Kevin
    November 4, 2009 at 13:17

    Quick question. I just recieved the same notification to wait for a letter in the mail. Was your medical clearence box checked when you recieved this notification, or unchecked?

  4. 4 Scott
    November 4, 2009 at 13:19

    Hey Kevin, the medical clearance box was checked.

  5. 5 k
    November 15, 2009 at 23:36

    I just got my medical clearance, too, and I can’t wait to get my invite. I’ve read it could take anywhere from a few days to five months. Ahhh, the anticipation is killing me!

    • 6 Scott
      November 16, 2009 at 09:11

      Tell me about it! That’s the problem with being on top of your medical clearance so early – just leaves more time to wait on the back end. Every morning I urgently check my email for a toolkit update. Good luck!


Comments are currently closed.

Follow/Connect

RSSEmail LinkedIn LinkedIn

Burkina Faso

Archives

RSS Other PC Burkina Blog Posts

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Donate/Lend

Time in Burkina

Disclaimer

The opinions on this blog are only those of the author, and and do not reflect any position of the U.S. Government or the Peace Corps.