10
Nov
09

And Then There Were Two

Based on my totally non-scientific approach detailed in this post, it looks like my list of three potential countries just got narrowed down to two: Mali and Benin.

So why does Burkina Faso look to be out of the running? According to the trusty source that is the Peace Corps Wiki Timeline, someone has been officially invited to Burkina Faso leaving June 21st, and my nomination is for July.

Exciting stuff to be sure, but I always try to keep in mind that half the time applicants aren’t sent to where they were nominated in the first place anyway.  Yay for progress. Now back to the waiting game.

5 Responses to “And Then There Were Two”


  1. November 10, 2009 at 14:34

    I have been warned, however, that the Wiki can be misleading, as it only shows individual invites, which can even change last minute. It gives a good general idea, but there are even a few odd things here and there: South Africa is slated to leave Jan 25th, yet it doesn’t show that on the Country page and the Staging Calender. My only reason to think I will be In SA is that a PCV in SA told me they are expecting more volunteers in Jan.

    • 2 Scott
      November 10, 2009 at 17:55

      Thanks for the fair warning. I think that type of error probably happens frequently, as it’s an error of omission. In other words, someone from that invitee class has to be proactive and post the invitation. I’d like to think that actual specific postings are more accurate, but you’re right in that I imagine people aren’t always quick to update any changes that occur.

  2. 3 Eileen
    November 10, 2009 at 16:36

    My sister Erin went to Benin, you should ask her what she thought of it. It could give you a better idea of what to expect there. If you don’t have her email, gchat me and I will give it to you.

    Congrats of the peace corp thing!!!!

    -Eileen

  3. 4 k
    November 15, 2009 at 23:41

    I was nominated for central asia, but I just read last week that Turkmenistan is barring entry to PC volunteers. So, that leaves me with Kyrgyz Republic and Kazakhstan. Hope it doesn’t affect my invitation.

    • 5 Scott
      November 16, 2009 at 09:13

      Well, it probably doesn’t help you, but if you’re still a ways out from your nomination date, chances are it won’t affect you too much. At least it’s not like Guinea where all of the volunteers were sent to other posts, right?


Comments are currently closed.

Follow/Connect

RSSEmail LinkedIn LinkedIn

Burkina Faso

Archives

RSS Other PC Burkina Blog Posts

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Donate/Lend

Time in Burkina

Disclaimer

The opinions on this blog are only those of the author, and and do not reflect any position of the U.S. Government or the Peace Corps.