11
Aug
10

Getting Closer

As a follow up to my last post regarding my limited French, the placement office replied by saying I better get going on my French studies immediately. She proceeded to make sure I knew that learning two languages (French and whatever local language) at the same time is very difficult, especially when French is used in the classroom to teach the local language. I think learning one language is pretty difficult, so you better believe I’m firing up Rosetta Stone tonight!

With that said, it’s pretty apparent that I’m being sent to a French speaking Sub-Saharan African country where the Peace Corps has a business program that is leaving somewhat soon. And guess what? There’s only one option that I know of – Burkina Faso, scheduled to depart on October 13th!

So it seems like it’s all set, I just have to wait for the official invite which hopefully will come any day now. And while I am incredibly excited, I don’t want to freak out quite yet. It feels pretty amazing to at least have something that seems fairly plausible though.

5 Responses to “Getting Closer”


  1. 1 K.A.W.
    August 11, 2010 at 22:57

    Will you let me know how well Rosetta Stone works? My mother is thinking about purchasing it for me.

    • 2 Scott
      August 13, 2010 at 10:08

      I actually found it a lot more helpful than the few formal classes I took, though I’m coming from absolutely no French background at all. I might have a different perspective if I had some basic knowledge coming in. Haven’t poked through levels 2 or 3 yet, but I’ll update the blog with my thoughts when I get there.

  2. 4 ACQ
    August 12, 2010 at 18:00

    Woohoo!!! Is it not blissful to see such progress with placement? I am ready to be in that place and am hoping to not be far behind.

    • 5 Scott
      August 13, 2010 at 10:09

      It’s definitely nice, but still no formal word yet and the anticipation is killing me! It’s a pretty crazy feeling knowing you could get a call at any moment that radically changes your life.


Comments are currently closed.

Follow/Connect

RSSEmail LinkedIn LinkedIn

Burkina Faso

Archives

Donate/Lend

Time in Burkina

Disclaimer

The opinions on this blog are only those of the author, and and do not reflect any position of the U.S. Government or the Peace Corps.