14
Aug
10

Invite is in the mail!

I woke up with one of the best emails I’ve ever received – my invitation is in the mail!  I’m about 99% sure it’s for Burkina Faso leaving on October 13th, but won’t know until I get the invite in my hands.

They sent it out yesterday (Friday) and since I live just five blocks from PC headquarters I’m hoping it might even come today, and Monday at the latest. I’m a little surprised everything happened so quickly as I’ve never actually spoken to anyone in the placement office for my entire application process – just 2 emails about my mortgage and French updates.

So excited! This definitely changes things.

4 Responses to “Invite is in the mail!”


  1. 1 Leah Lemoine
    August 14, 2010 at 22:41

    I stumbled upon your blog- I am applying to the Peace Corps soon (probably will submit my application in the next week or so). This sheds a lot of light on the while process and it is incredibly helpful. Thanks a bunch.

  2. 2 mitchfong
    August 15, 2010 at 13:44

    Congrats. I just received an invite in the mail too. It’ll probably be for Niger, as i’ll be an English teacher. I was surprised too as I didn’t speak to anyone from placement, just replied to their emails and that was it. I guess we kinda lucked out (hehe. My invite should be here Monday, and i could end up in Burkina Faso also, who knows, anyways, congrats, and i know exactly how you feel right now.

  3. August 15, 2010 at 14:29

    Congrats! That’s awesome news.

  4. 4 Scott
    August 15, 2010 at 14:53

    Thanks everyone! I’m spending a nerve-wracking weekend waiting around for this blue envelope. Tomorrow afternoon can’t come soon enough!

    Leah, definitely let me know if you have any other q’s. Good luck w/ your application.

    Congrats Mitch – would be great to get to know other folks heading to the area.


Comments are currently closed.

Follow/Connect

RSSEmail LinkedIn LinkedIn

Burkina Faso

Archives

Donate/Lend

Time in Burkina

Disclaimer

The opinions on this blog are only those of the author, and and do not reflect any position of the U.S. Government or the Peace Corps.