17
Aug
10

Burkina Faso!

It’s official! I received my invitation kit this afternoon and as I expected, the winner is Burkina Faso! I’ll depart October 10th for Orientation (which I believe will be in Philadelphia) and then arrive in Burkina Faso on October 13th, where I’ll be in training through December 17th. My official two years of service will be from December 18, 2010 – December 18, 2012. Wow.

I am beyond excited, though certainly intimidated by the amount of tasks I’ll need to get taken care of in the next 8 weeks. Anyone else out there heading to BF in October? Get in touch!

11 Responses to “Burkina Faso!”


  1. 1 Erin
    August 18, 2010 at 08:28

    congrats!

  2. August 19, 2010 at 10:40

    Hey, congratulations! I’m not in Burkina Faso, but I am in Philadelphia. If your training is here, get in touch. I would love to show you around and discuss PC if you’re free.

  3. 3 ACQ
    August 19, 2010 at 15:42

    So jealous…knowing your location is fabulous, knowing your dates and having them laid out for the next few months is even better. I am lucky I have a job I love, but not knowing when I will leave is beginning to make me crazy.

  4. 4 Laura
    August 20, 2010 at 00:11

    Hey,
    My name is Laura and I was on the internet doing some research about Burkina Faso and I came across your blog! I just received my invitation in the mail today. It sounds like we will be in the same program starting in October!

    • 5 Scott
      August 20, 2010 at 07:33

      Great to see someone in the group! Shoot me an email at sworthington at gmail.com if you want to chat packing strategies, paperwork, etc. Looking forward to meeting you!

      • 6 Anne
        August 20, 2010 at 16:46

        I also just received my invite today for Burkina Faso (small enterprise development) and stumbled across your blog; I am excited to hear of others heading there too! It’d definitely be great to be in contact as our departure gets closer for packing, etc. help. Feel free to email me at amgreteman@gmail.com and I can’t wait to meet you both at staging!

  5. 7 Laura
    August 21, 2010 at 09:33

    Awesome! Scott, thanks for making this blog! You have already brought the 3 of us together because of it :)
    Anne, my e-mail is laura.schragg@gmail.com. Feel free to e-mail me whenever. I know we have a lot to do and a lot to pack, so bouncing ideas off of each other might be good!
    See you in October!

  6. 8 Margo
    August 21, 2010 at 12:47

    Congratulations! Fabulous assignment! Working on your Resume and Aspiration statement now? I’m staging in Honolulu on September 1: we check in for registration at noon and meet in the lobby at 2 AM for our flight to Micronesia. Yikes, that’s quick, don’t you think? I imagined “staging” would be longer! Ready! Set! Go! Congrats again! When are the rest of the family applying :)

    • 9 Scott
      August 22, 2010 at 11:27

      Thanks! Can’t believe how soon you’re leaving yourself! Slowly but surely we’ll make sure the Worthingtons take over PC, haha. Not sure where you are right now, but let’s talk soon!

  7. August 22, 2010 at 06:23

    Hey! I am currently training in Burkina Faso! I am going to swear in next Friday! Can’t wait for you and your fellow trainees to get here in October, if you have any questions, feel free to shoot me an e-mail :)

    Congrats!

    • 11 Scott
      August 22, 2010 at 11:28

      Hi Keith! I just shot you an email – boy you opened a wormhole when you offered to answer questions, haha. Hopefully I kept the list short and sweet.


Comments are currently closed.

Follow/Connect

RSSEmail LinkedIn LinkedIn

Burkina Faso

Archives

Donate/Lend

Time in Burkina

Disclaimer

The opinions on this blog are only those of the author, and and do not reflect any position of the U.S. Government or the Peace Corps.