13
Oct
10

Staging

I’m in Philly for Staging, probably on the last internet connection I’ll get for at least a few days.  I’m told I shouldn’t expect to be able to contact anyone until Sunday at the earliest, so don’t worry about me if you don’t hear from me for a few days.

Staging, essentially a brief PC orientation, didn’t cover too much new information, but was a good chance to meet the 30 other folks headed over with me. The group is evenly split between Health and Business volunteers. Most everyone is right out of college, but there are a couple of other mid to late-twenties folks, as well as three older volunteers, two who are doing second or third tours in the PC.

Everyone seems incredibly enthusiastic and very down to earth, nice people. I’m looking forward to getting to know everyone better and to finally get going on this adventure of mine.

After getting a yellow fever shot in the morning, we bus up to JFK where we board an early evening flight to Brussels where after a three hour layover will finally arrive in Ouagadougou mid afternoon on Thursday.  The time change is just four hours, so hopefully we won’t be too jet-lagged.  We’ll remain in the capital for two days before heading to our training village of Koudougou.  We’ll be living in a dorm-style for three more days before we then are assigned to our host families.

Still not sure this has all hit me, but I’m excited to finally get to Africa after all of this time.  See you all on the other side.

2 Responses to “Staging”


  1. 1 Kate
    October 14, 2010 at 21:30

    I’m sensing a pattern Scott – what does “dougou” refer to in a name?

  2. 2 Kareen Poku
    October 23, 2010 at 02:31

    I do not know exactly what “dougou” means, but I can know Ouagadougou was originally called “Woogodogo” meaning where you can get respect and honor. However after several tribal wars the name was changed by a Hero of the Yonyonse tribe changed the name from”Woododogo” to Ouagadogou to corrupt the previous name.


Comments are currently closed.

Follow/Connect

RSSEmail LinkedIn LinkedIn

Burkina Faso

Archives

RSS Other PC Burkina Blog Posts

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Donate/Lend

Time in Burkina

Disclaimer

The opinions on this blog are only those of the author, and and do not reflect any position of the U.S. Government or the Peace Corps.