18
Oct
10

I’m Here

I’ve made it here to Burkina!  It’s been pretty hectic these past few days, but I’m feeling pretty good about everything so far. We had an uneventful flight, connecting through Brussels, and then our first two nights in a hotel in Ouagadougou, or just Ouaga for short. We filled out a lot of paperwork (this is a government job after all), got some shots, were issued our mountain bikes and water filters, and were introduced to the Peace Corps Burkina staff.

On the second night we had a welcome dinner at our country director’s (CD) house, which was quite elegant. There have been a lot of changes in the past week.  We were in Philly for staging, spent about 30 hours in transit, spent our first two nights in Ouaga, then this current three night stretch at our training center in Koudougou before moving in with our host families tomorrow. Of the 31 trainees in my group, about half are SED (Small Enterprise Development) trainees, while the other half are Health Extension. Before coming to Burkina I had two main concerns; my lack of French, and the high temperatures of Sub-Saharan Africa. Both have certainly come to fruition. I’m slowly getting used to the idea that I won’t be able to understand much and that I’ll only feel clean for an hour or so each day. Internet/phone access has been surprisingly good so far, though I’ve resisted the urge to get out my laptop until today. I’m hoping to buy a cell phone soon so I can hear from you all back in the States.

1 Response to “I’m Here”


  1. 1 Kareen Poku
    November 1, 2010 at 09:55

    Bonjour Mon ami, I am glad you made it safely to Burkina. It seemed like a never ending trip(30 hrs transit). It’s getting really cold here and I would trade places with you in a heart beat. I could never get use to the cold! About the language, trust me it will get better. Try and speak with the locals as much as possible because the more you speak the fluent you become. Don’t worry about making mistakes, its all part of the learning process. Have you had any fried Caterpillars yet?:) I believe you’ve tasted Fufu by now because I could have sworn I saw your group eating fufu (Facebook pictures). Was it fufu and soup? I tell people it can be compared to dumplings. Did you take turns in using the mortar and pestle to prepare fufu?
    I hope you are enjoing each day as you learn new things.

    Keep us posted on your adventure!

    Best,

    Kareen


Comments are currently closed.

Follow/Connect

RSSEmail LinkedIn LinkedIn

Burkina Faso

Archives

RSS Other PC Burkina Blog Posts

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Donate/Lend

Time in Burkina

Disclaimer

The opinions on this blog are only those of the author, and and do not reflect any position of the U.S. Government or the Peace Corps.