26
Dec
10

It’s Official

I’m now officially a PCV! We took the official oath (the same oath the US president takes) of service on December 16th at the US ambassador’s residence in Ouagadougou. We were quite the spectacle as we all wore the same fabric but had it tailored in different ways. I had a pretty cool Bobo. Check out some pictures.

SED Volunteers

Health Volunteers

The day before and day of swear-in was our chance to buy things for our new homes. Some of us are replacing a previous volunteer, so have a number of things already, while others (like me) are “first generation” volunteers. So while I received more money from the Peace Corps to help set up my house, I’m jealous of those who were able to move into places that were already at least somewhat set up. Since I’m in one of the big cities, I was able to relax a bit and just focus my purchases on some food items that can only be found in the capital. Others were going off to small villages so they had to buy a many items because not much is available at their site. I bought brie cheese, salami and some red wine to celebrate.

We didn’t have too much time to rest on our newly acquired status as we were affectated to our new sites early the next morning. I made it to my site in a comfortable Peace Corps car with two others; my site-mate and another PCV who is in the region (though three hours further away). I was the first to be dropped off. So far so good – will put up details and photos of my house on my next post.

1 Response to “It’s Official”


  1. 1 Kareen Poku
    December 27, 2010 at 09:53

    Congratulations Scott! You do look pretty cool in your Bobo. Wishing you all the best on your new assignment & home. Thanks for sharing the pictures. Take care!


Comments are currently closed.

Follow/Connect

RSSEmail LinkedIn LinkedIn

Burkina Faso

Archives

Donate/Lend

Time in Burkina

Disclaimer

The opinions on this blog are only those of the author, and and do not reflect any position of the U.S. Government or the Peace Corps.