02
Jan
11

Chez moi

Check out my house (click to make bigger):

I’m pretty spoiled with my current setup. I have:

  • Running water shower (only works between 9pm and 6am, but I’ll take what I can get)
  • Electricity
  • Ceiling Fan

Plus, once I can save up some money I’ll be purchasing a refrigerator (probably by March). As far as Peace Corps Burkina goes, that’s quite the amenities list – I’m very lucky. Though for the first little while the going was a little tough as my electricity still wasn’t hooked up and a plumber had to come fix my water. Plus I didn’t have any furniture or many other things I’ll need, so I had to get some stuff made and make a lot of trips to the marché. I had a desk for my bedroom and a couple of tables with shelves made for my new L-shaped kitchen. I also have a coffee table that I like quite a bit. Just yesterday I got some hooks to hang my clothes on plus a frame for a large map of Burkina that I was given. I have some more plans for furniture, but will have to wait for my next few paychecks before I get too crazy. I’m still sleeping on my thermarest in my tent as I can’t afford a nice bed just yet. I could get a foam bed for fairly cheap, but I hear those things are like saunas during hot season, so I’m holding out for a real mattress.

I live in what’s called a celebetarium, literally meaning “a house for singles”. I liken it to a townhouse setup in the US. I’m the third unit of five identical units back-to-back, so I share both of my walls with neighbors. Speaking of neighbors, my counterpart, having come to check out the progress on my house for the Peace Corps, decided that he liked the place so much he moved in right next door! While I suppose it could be a little awkward to live next door to my counterpart, in this case I think it will work out great. I’ve now been here for a short time and we’ve definitely clicked.

My house is on the far west of town, while the marché is in the center. It takes about 10 minutes to ride my bike there. I have two fellow PCV site-mates, one who lives practically next door (about two minutes away), though the other is on the other side of town 25 minutes away. The FAIJ office is also on the eastern side of town and takes me about 15-20 minutes to get there. Check out the map below to get a better sense of the city – I’ve made a few edits to take out any identifying road names, but I’ve highlighted my house (orange dot to the west), the gran marché (orange square in the middle), and my office (orange dot to the east). There are a few paved roads, but most are dirt (the small dirt roads around my house didn’t make the map). The large lake is a dam and the water source for the city.

Click to make bigger

4 Responses to “Chez moi”


  1. 1 Ghaz
    January 3, 2011 at 03:56

    Aweosome digs bro… my pad in dubai right now is less furnished than yours! Let me know what you need and i will send you a care package from here (mosquito coils, soap, shampoo, cookies etc.) also did the dentonic thing work out for you? :)
    Best bro… have an awesome time! See you in Dubai soon.
    Ghaz

  2. 2 Will
    January 3, 2011 at 10:50

    Where will you put Rock Band?

  3. 3 Michael
    January 5, 2011 at 18:37

    Nick won’t pick up your tv until tonight if you want it shipped ;)

  4. January 6, 2011 at 11:06

    Scott, enjoy the electricity. I’m in withdrawal without it! Hope to come visit you and Luis in the late spring / early summer.


Comments are currently closed.

Follow/Connect

RSSEmail LinkedIn LinkedIn

Burkina Faso

Archives

RSS Other PC Burkina Blog Posts

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Donate/Lend

Time in Burkina

Disclaimer

The opinions on this blog are only those of the author, and and do not reflect any position of the U.S. Government or the Peace Corps.