01
Mar
11

Office Move

Big news – we just moved offices. We’re not all the way moved in, and our sign isn’t up yet, but it’s quite the upgrade. My commute just got a lot shorter (from 15 minutes to 10) and we’re more centrally located, meaning that I can walk to the central market, the post office, and my favorite coffee spot. Plus there’s now internal plumbing with a toilette. But the really big news worth celebrating is the planned installation of air conditioning. Air conditioning people. I told my colleagues that I plan on becoming a workaholic, and will likely start eating lunch at my desk, and maybe even pulling all nighters. Just in time for hot season. Though I’ll wait to celebrate until it’s actually installed.

Like with the last building, each of the four different programs within the ministry of youth and employment has one representative in the office. Add in the secretary, the guard, and me, and you have seven people in all. The regional director for the ministry is in a different office on the other side of town.

The four programs are:

  1. FAIJ:       Fonds d’Appui aux Initiatives des Jeunes
  2. FAFPA:    Fonds d’Appui à la Formation Professionnelle et à l’Apprentissage
  3. FASI:       Fonds d’Appui au Secteur Informel
  4. FAPE:      Fonds d’Appui à la Promotion de l’Emploi

Each of the four agency representatives have their own office down the hallway – each has a computer, while the secretary and I each have a desk in the large entryway. That’s my desk on the far side of the top photo. There is one extra room that I could take over, but I like being out in the main entryway as I am able to be introduced to everyone that comes by the office and lets me be more sociable with my colleagues. Plus, one of those planned air conditioning units will be going in right above my desk. Quelle chance!

1 Response to “Office Move”


  1. 1 Kareen Poku
    March 3, 2011 at 16:57

    This is great news! Your own desk/office plus an AC! I’m glad your prayers have been answered especially now that you will be entering the hot season.Keep us posted when the AC is insatlled and you spend all day and night at the office! The things we take for grantedwhen we have easy access… Wishing you all the best! Take care…KP


Comments are currently closed.

Follow/Connect

RSSEmail LinkedIn LinkedIn

Burkina Faso

Archives

RSS Other PC Burkina Blog Posts

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Donate/Lend

Time in Burkina

Disclaimer

The opinions on this blog are only those of the author, and and do not reflect any position of the U.S. Government or the Peace Corps.