16
May
11

Bobo/Banfora

Though I’ve been living in Burkina Faso for about seven(!) months already, I hadn’t really seen many different parts of the country or done many things that one would do if they were coming to Burkina as a tourist. I live out east, and have spent a lot of time in Ouagadougou and Koudougou, both located in the center of the country, but until recently had yet to visit the southwest, the most beautiful part of the country. A Peace Corps training recently allowed me to visit Bobo-Dioulasso and a day trip to Banfora.

Banfora is home to a few tourist attractions; a series of waterfalls, a couple of interesting geological ranges, and a nearby lake with hippopotamus viewing. We just had time for the waterfalls on this trip, so I will certainly be back. Perhaps the most welcome site for me was actually seeing plants and the color green. Even though I visited at the height of dry season, the southwest was incredibly lush. While driving through the beautiful countryside of palm trees and sugar cane it took everything I had to not be too angry with the volunteers posted here. Alas, I will have to be content with my desert location.

I love the large mosque right in downtown Bobo pictured above. Check out some Banfora photos below, including the most sour fruit I have ever tasted (reminds me of sour patch kids):

3 Responses to “Bobo/Banfora”


  1. 2 jessedziedzic
    October 20, 2011 at 15:28

    Youre exactly right on this blog!

  2. January 13, 2012 at 08:22

    Actually no matter if someone doesnt know after that its up to other people that they will assist, so here it takes place.


Comments are currently closed.

Follow/Connect

RSSEmail LinkedIn LinkedIn

Burkina Faso

Archives

Donate/Lend

Time in Burkina

Disclaimer

The opinions on this blog are only those of the author, and and do not reflect any position of the U.S. Government or the Peace Corps.