17
Jun
11

Friday Photo: Apple in Africa

Each Friday I’ll serve up a photo and give you the story behind it. This week, a new friend wearing an Apple t-shirt.

I was having a rough day. It was mid-day and scorching outside. I had a lot of borrowers to meet. But my bike was not cooperating and I was on my third trip to the mechanic due to repeated flat or burst tires. While waiting for a new tire, another customer arrived and he was wearing this t-shirt.

Anyone who knows me back in America knows that I’m quite obsessed with any and every Apple product I can get my hands on. While there is a surprising amount of technology available here, Macs are basically non-existent outside of the PCV community. The only one I’ve seen so far is when I shared a taxi ride with a Burkinabe who works for the US embassy who surprised me with a Macbook Pro and a 4G iPhone. And while the whole practice of sending free or cheap t-shirts to developing countries has come into question recently, this shirt certainly brightened my day.

Follow/Connect

RSSEmail LinkedIn LinkedIn

Burkina Faso

Archives

RSS Other PC Burkina Blog Posts

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Donate/Lend

Time in Burkina

Disclaimer

The opinions on this blog are only those of the author, and and do not reflect any position of the U.S. Government or the Peace Corps.