13
Jul
11

Top 10: Material Goods I Miss

Disclaimer – I live in a regional capital with electricity, water (kind of), and a population over 100,000, so I’m not living the “small village in a mud hut” life.

Adjusting to life in Burkina Faso has been a lot easier than I was expecting. The first couple of months were the toughest – especially getting up to speed on language and having my stomach get adjusted to the cuisine. But now that I’m passed that, I realize that life feels pretty normal to me. However, I miss a few material things (though I do have access to a few of these via thoughtful care packages). The list is in rough order of importance, but I think deciding the true order would be a fun conversation with a group of other PCVs.

  1. Being cold.
  2. Fast internet.
  3. A good bed.
  4. Deli meats.
  5. Dairy (cheese/milk).
  6. Spices.
  7. Good  liquor/beer/wine.
  8. More fruits & vegetables.
  9. Baked goods.
  10. Inside bathrooms.
This list actually took me a while to create, which I think is telling of how little I actually miss. And admittedly, many items are more of the “nice to have” variety. Also, most of this list would be crossed off if I lived in Ouaga and/or had an actual salary, though sadly there’s nothing I would ever be able to do about the temperature. Also, if this were a list of non-material goods, my true item #1 would be “being understood”.
And on the flip side, what I don’t miss – television, cars, and consumerism.
Follow/Connect

RSSEmail LinkedIn LinkedIn

Burkina Faso

Archives

Donate/Lend

Time in Burkina

Disclaimer

The opinions on this blog are only those of the author, and and do not reflect any position of the U.S. Government or the Peace Corps.