21
Jul
11

Fashion Shows – Video Montage

It’s graduation season, and I had the opportunity to attend two end of the year fashion shows for some local tailoring schools. Sadly I don’t have a zoom lens, so am without quality photos to show you. Instead I haphazardly put together a couple of the video clips I shot to try to give you a taste of the events.

You’ll see a couple of walks down the runway, a poetry reading (I think, but couldn’t understand her very well), and some traditional singing and dancing. Be on the lookout for playback (lip-syncing) towards the end (and will likely be the subject of a future more detailed post).

Added bonus: listen for the Celine Dion at the end, and realize that the same song was on repeat for the whole 2 hour runway segment of the show, I kid you not.

2 Responses to “Fashion Shows – Video Montage”


  1. 1 Anne Kaplan
    July 21, 2011 at 22:53

    What a great taste of BF culture! Thanks for sharing.

  2. July 22, 2011 at 08:12

    Was quite a unique experience even for me! My next project: to figure out how I can get the guy playing the calabash drums to put on weekly mini-concerts.


Comments are currently closed.

Follow/Connect

RSSEmail LinkedIn LinkedIn

Burkina Faso

Archives

Donate/Lend

Time in Burkina

Disclaimer

The opinions on this blog are only those of the author, and and do not reflect any position of the U.S. Government or the Peace Corps.