31
Jul
11

Coming to America*


The Route (the actual route has a few layovers, but you get the idea)

I’m hoping on a plane tomorrow and coming back to the states for a three-week whirlwind tour! Though initially against my travel philosophy (I’m in Africa, I should see Africa), I couldn’t pass up the the trifecta of two weddings and a pregnant sister with identical twin girls. And while it won’t be the most relaxing trip (Paris, 2 days -> Boston, 3 days -> DC, 3 days -> Seattle, 3 days -> San Francisco, 10 days), I am excited to see everyone back at home, plus a few sites on the way. I’m curious to see how this “reverse culture shock” thing will be.
While packing I realized that I don’t really have good clothes for America, so apologies in advance to those I will see (yes I’ll have a suit for the weddings, don’t worry brides). I don’t plan on blogging while I’m away, but I’ve set up an impressive number of automated posts to keep you all entertained, plus my colleague has even promised a guest post (in English no less).
__________________
* This great 80’s film starring Eddy Murphy is quite popular here in Burkina (Un prince à New York).
3 Responses to “Coming to America*”


  1. July 31, 2011 at 16:33

    Wow sounds really interesting. A whirlwind for sure. Though it’ll be busy I’m sure you’ll have some fun!
    Bon Voyage.

  2. 2 Kareen Poku
    July 31, 2011 at 16:33

    All the best Jetsette!!.Safe travels!!

  3. July 31, 2011 at 22:14

    Thanks guys – really excited for the trip. Plans are falling in to place as we speak (meeting up with friends in paris, red sox game, etc). Will be fun!


Comments are currently closed.

Follow/Connect

RSSEmail LinkedIn LinkedIn

Burkina Faso

Archives

RSS Other PC Burkina Blog Posts

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Donate/Lend

Time in Burkina

Disclaimer

The opinions on this blog are only those of the author, and and do not reflect any position of the U.S. Government or the Peace Corps.