12
Aug
11

Friday Photo: Brothers

Each Friday I’ll serve up a photo and give you the story behind it. This week, my two host brothers, Richard and Isadore.

Richard and Isadore were wonderful hosts during my first months in-country. They were incredibly patient with my inability to communicate, invited me to play soccer with them, and provided hours of entertainment as they would argue with each other non-stop. For example, Richard would constantly tell me that his family took cousin Isadore in because he had a baby in village but still needed an education. Isadore fervently denied this and they enjoyed calling each other faux-types, literally “false-type”, which translates roughly to “sketchy”. I never got the real story behind that and many other tales, but that’s half the fun.

Follow/Connect

RSSEmail LinkedIn LinkedIn

Burkina Faso

Archives

Donate/Lend

Time in Burkina

Disclaimer

The opinions on this blog are only those of the author, and and do not reflect any position of the U.S. Government or the Peace Corps.