07
Oct
11

Friday Photo: Volunteering in Action

Each Friday I’ll serve up a photo and give you the story behind it. This week, an action shot from the US Embassy’s 4th of July event.

Like many photographers, I’m often behind the lens rather than in front of it – and I like it that way most of the time. Though I’m a bit sad that I don’t have any good action shots of me working. Many PCVs have awesome photos in the fields, making products like soap, or giving trainings. I usually just work one-on-one with my office colleagues or individual borrowers, so my meetings don’t usually leave anyone to do the photographing (and who wants a photo of a business meeting anyway?).

Thus, I bring you an action shot from back at the US Embassy’s 4th of July event. This is me pointing out where I went to college during a general discussion about the US. Exciting stuff, I know, but I like to use it to show people the vast distances between where I grew up (San Francisco, CA), went to college (Tacoma, WA), and worked (Washington, DC). The area of Burkina Faso is just about right on with the state of Colorado, so it works for a nice proxy.

Follow/Connect

RSSEmail LinkedIn LinkedIn

Burkina Faso

Archives

RSS Other PC Burkina Blog Posts

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Donate/Lend

Time in Burkina

Disclaimer

The opinions on this blog are only those of the author, and and do not reflect any position of the U.S. Government or the Peace Corps.