18
Jan
12

Scotch Washington

Ok, go watch this youtube clip from ‘Friends’ about Joey learning French.

You back? Good. Essentially this is what happens almost every time I say my name to a Burkinabé. A sample introductory conversation:

Me: Hello
Burkinabé: Hi, what’s your name?
Me: It’s a little difficult to say… Scott.
Burkinabé: Whaaaaa?
Me: Sc-o-tt. Scott.
Burkinabé: Haha, there’s no way I can say that.
Me: It’s not that hard, let’s try again. Scott.
Burkinabé: Pascal?
Me: What? No. Scott.
Burkinabé: Ah, Scotch.
Me: So close, but just drop that last ‘ch’.
Burkinabé: Scotch.
Me: Yup, exactly.

In the end I usually give up and just tell them to call me my Gourmantché name given to me by my colleagues: Yempabou (gift from God). As a result, I have resolved that one day I will give my future children names that can be pronounced in English/French/Spanish equally well (and has caused me to slightly resent other PCVs that have easy to say names in French).

And my lastname of Worthington? Forget it – it’s not even worth attempting for most. Thankfully, almost all Burkinabé know the capital of the US to be Washington, so I’ve adopted that instead.

The worst part is that I get this even from people who have known me for over a year.

For some evidence (on the first name at least), check out the slip I received in my mailbox after receiving a package:

4 Responses to “Scotch Washington”


  1. 1 Anne
    January 19, 2012 at 13:32

    Maybe you could try saying your name is Scotland? But l’Ecosse isn’t as bad ass as Scotch.

    • 2 Anonymous
      January 19, 2012 at 13:59

      Haha, I love that episode of friends. :-D My last name has also been written and pronounced in numerous ways in different countries. An american airline once made me – even after spelling it to them – “Carolyn Hunter”. I thought that was pretty close.

      Good idea, Anne!
      Or, since you have that nickname “Gift from God”, how about saying it’s like “God” only with an “S” in front. :-) Never mind the spelling.
      And YES, my kids will also have internationally-working names!

  2. January 20, 2012 at 10:49

    I’ve also been getting “Catch” a lot lately (c-ah-tch), which is funny because “catch” in French is wrestling.

  3. 4 Williamson David
    February 3, 2012 at 21:36

    This is hilarious!! Seems like there’s humor everywhere you look, every day.

    Cheers,
    Dave Williamson (my name is not quite as difficult to pronounce.)


Comments are currently closed.

Follow/Connect

RSSEmail LinkedIn LinkedIn

Burkina Faso

Archives

RSS Other PC Burkina Blog Posts

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Donate/Lend

Time in Burkina

Disclaimer

The opinions on this blog are only those of the author, and and do not reflect any position of the U.S. Government or the Peace Corps.